0,00

RODRIGO BRAGA – BIOMIMESIS

Exhibition : 10th Sept. – 06th Dec. 2019
Press release

« I immerse myself in the transcendence, in the sacred, in what we do not understand: life, death, encounters, chance, nature. After all, life is about what is not known. » (Rodrigo Braga)


Three years after his Palais de Tokyo exhibition (in collaboration with SAM ART PROJECTS), the Brazilian artist Rodrigo Braga returns to Paris, followed by “hot breaking-news” of his country and his native land, the Amazon. With his photographs and videos documenting actions in the jungle, Braga is looking for new ways to experience nature – wild and resistant, fragile and powerful. His interventions allow him to reconnect with the savage world and to renew the sacred bond with the four elements. Like nature, using all kinds of mimetic strategies, Braga combines organic matter and forms, plants, fish, soil and water. He manipulates these powerful symbols to create his own meanings, which also tell a story of a universal human condition on Earth.

SANDRA HEGEDÜS
Sparkling and curious, Sandra Hegedüs (born in São Paulo, Brazil) is an art collector and patron, the founder of SAM Art Projects, an art foundation created in 2009 in order to promote contemporary art. In 2018 the Montblanc Prize for Arts and Culture rewarded her for her long-standing commitment.

RODRIGO BRAGA
Rodrigo Braga was born in Manaus (Amazon, Brazil) in 1976, a research location of his parents, scientists in biology. He later lived in Recife (Northeast Brazil). In 2002 he graduated with degree in Visual Arts at the Federal University of Pernambuco (UFPE). In 2012 he joined the 30th São Paulo Bienal presenting his video installationTone, one year after the same work was screened on MoMA PS1 cinema, New York. In 2016 he presented a solo exhibition at Palais de Tokyo, Paris and in 2017 he was invited for a residency in Jogja Biennale Indonesia. In 2012 he received the Pipa Prize of Modern Art Museum of Rio de Janeiro and in 2013 the Emerging Talent Prize of São Paulo Art Museum. His works are part of private and public collections, such as Modern Art Museum of São Paulo or Maison Européene de La Photographie, Paris. He currently lives between Rio de Janeiro and Paris.

Rodrigo Braga‘s sensibility originates in his adolescence, marked by an unexpected encounter with a dog dying in the street. This traumatism is evoked in one of his first works in which he literally transplanted dog’s head into his face. This experience also induced the main theme of Braga’s work: the complex relationship of man to nature, on the edge between communion and battle, love and rage, in an eternal cycle of life and death.

Braga’s relationship to nature is deeply personal. In the videos and photographs that record his experiences, he appears alone, naked, in a cathartic ritual trying to renew with the world of the wilderness. Both performance document and a pure pictorial image, his work tells the story of his immersive trips to Amazon rainforest, the desire to escape civilization, to get lost and dissipate into the nature.

Son of scientists in biology, Braga’s work appears at intersection of different disciplines of knowledge: anthropology, literature, sociology and philosophy. Abundant in symbols and metaphors, his images demonstrate the limits of language. For example, water, omnipresent in his work, symbolizes the universal link of everything on Earth. The jungle, the ocean, the plants, the animals, the man – everything contains, absorbs and renders water.

Water is also a metaphor for the energy flow that allows the transformation of the biological and chemical matter. This cyclical metamorphosis is another important subject of Braga’s work. Nature is for him a universe where all elements are equal and interchangeable. Each form can be freely transformed into another: the water into a fish, a fish into a leaf, a leaf into a feather, a feather into an egg and so on… The nature of all things is conditioned by an eternal transformation of elements, a universal resemblance, dissolution of the boundaries between beings – yet another way to understand biomimesis.

Inspired by nature, Braga also draws his references form art history, such as Dutch 17th century still lifes, romantic landscapes, surrealism, land art, performances of Ana Mendieta, or those by Joseph Beuys, rocking the dead hare.

Questioning man’s anthropocentric vision and his power relationship to the nature gives Braga an opportunity for reconciliation. His photographs and videos are picturesque visualization of existential questions. Their poetic world testifies artist’s extremely intense and passionate relationship to nature, creating a powerful metaphor of human existence on Earth, in a search for Paradise Lost.

29, AVENUE HOCHE, 75008 PARIS, (+33) (0)6 30 74 52 62 moc.s1576227624ulpen1576227624na@tc1576227624atnoc1576227624
Comité Professionnel des Galeries d'Art

RODRIGO BRAGA – BIOMIMESIS

Vernissage – Soirée Brésilienne – Concert : Jeudi 10 oct. 17h – 21h
Exposition : 10 oct – 06 déc. 2019
Communiqué de presse

« Je me plonge dans la transcendance, dans le sacré, dans ce que nous ne comprenons pas : la vie, la mort, les rencontres, le hasard, la nature. Après tout, la vie concerne ce que l’on ignore. » (Rodrigo Braga)


Trois ans après son exposition au Palais de Tokyo dans le cadre de SAM ART PROJECTS, l’artiste brésilien Rodrigo Braga revient à Paris dans le contexte de l’actualité « brûlante » de son pays et de sa terre natale, l’Amazonie. Par le biais de photographies et de vidéos qui documentent ses actions, il cherche de nouvelles façons de vivre et de voir la nature – sauvage et résistante, fragile et puissante à la fois. Ses interventions lui permettent de se reconnecter à l’immensité des « petites choses » et de renouveler le lien sacré avec les quatre éléments. Comme la nature qui emploie toutes sortes de stratégies mimétiques, Braga associe les matières et les formes organiques, les plantes, les poissons, la terre, de l’eau. Il manipule ces symboles puissants pour raconter une nouvelle histoire, propre à lui, mais qui parle aussi de notre condition humaine sur cette terre.

SANDRA HEGEDÜS
Sémillante et curieuse, Sandra Hegedüs (née à São Paulo, Brésil) est une collectionneuse et mécène à l’origine de SAM Art Projects, fondation destinée depuis 2009 à promouvoir la création artistique contemporaine. Elle a été récompensée pour son engagement auprès des artistes et de la culture par le Prix Montblanc des Arts et de la Culture 2018.

RODRIGO BRAGA
Rodrigo Braga est né en 1976 à Manaus (Amazonie, Brésil), lieu de travail scientifique de ses parents biologistes. Il a vécu par la suite à Recife (nord-est du Brésil). Il est diplômé en arts visuels de l’Université fédérale de Pernambuco (UFPE, 2002). Il vit actuellement entre Rio de Janeiro et Paris. En 2012, il rejoint la 30e Biennale de São Paulo où il monte l’installation vidéo Tone, un an après la projection de cette œuvre au cinéma MoMA PS1, à New York. En 2016, il présente une exposition personnelle au Palais de Tokyo à Paris et en 2017, il est invité pour une résidence à la Jogja Biennale Indonesia. En 2012, il reçoit le prix Pipa du Musée d’Art Moderne de Rio de Janeiro et, en 2013, le prix des Talents Emergents du Musée d’Art de São Paulo – MASP. Ses œuvres font partie de collections privées et publiques, comme le Musée d’Art Moderne de São Paulo ou le Musée Européen de la Photographie à Paris.

A l’origine de la vocation artistique de Rodrigo Braga se cache l’histoire de son adolescence, une rencontre inattendue avec un chien mourant dans la rue. Ce traumatisme, évoqué dans une de ses premières œuvres où l’artiste a littéralement greffé une tête de chien sur son visage, a induit le thème principal de son travail : la relation complexe de l’homme à la nature, entre la communion et la bataille, entre l’amour et la rage dans le cycle éternel de la vie et de la mort.

Le rapport de Braga à la nature est profondément personnel. Dans les vidéos et photographies qui enregistrent ses expériences, il apparaît toujours seul, nu, comme dans un rituel cathartique permettant de retrouver le contact perdu avec le monde sauvage. Au croisement de la performance et d’une pure image picturale, son travail raconte l’histoire de ses séjours immersifs dans la forêt amazonienne, le désir de s’échapper à la civilisation, de se perdre, de s’effacer dans la nature.

Fils de chercheurs en biologie, Braga a su positionner son travail à l’intersection de différentes disciplines de connaissance : anthropologie, littérature, sociologie et philosophie. Ses images démontrent les limites du langage et regorgent de symboles et de métaphores. Par exemple, l’eau, omniprésente chez Braga, symbolise le lien universel et insolvable de tout sur terre. La jungle, l’océan, les plantes, les animaux, l’homme – tout en contient, l’absorbe et le rend.

L’eau est aussi une métaphore du flux d’énergie qui permet la transformation de la matière biologique et chimique. Cette métamorphose constante est un autre sujet important du travail de Braga. La nature est pour lui un univers hybride où tous les éléments sont égalitaires et interchangeables. Chaque forme peut se transformer librement en une autre: l’eau en poisson, le poisson en feuille, la feuille en plume, la plume en œuf et ainsi à l’infini… La nature des choses est conditionnée par cette transformation éternelle des éléments, cette ressemblance universelle, cette dissolution des frontières entre les êtres – encore une autre façon de comprendre le biomimétisme.

Tourné vers le monde sauvage, Braga puise également ses références dans l’histoire de l’art, dans les natures mortes du grand siècle hollandais, les paysages romantiques, le surréalisme, le land art, les performances d’Ana Mendieta, ou celles de Joseph Beuys berçant le lièvre mort.

La mise en cause de la vision anthropocentrique de l’homme et de sa relation de pouvoir à la nature donne à Braga une possibilité de réconciliation. Ses photographies et ses vidéos sont une visualisation plastique et pittoresque des questions existentielles. Leur monde poétique témoigne de la relation extrêmement intense et passionnelle à la nature qui donne naissance à des métaphores puissantes de l’existence humaine sur Terre, en quête du paradis perdu.

29, AVENUE HOCHE, 75008 PARIS, Espace privé (+33) (0)6 30 74 52 62 moc.s1571589461ulpen1571589461na@tc1571589461atnoc1571589461
Comité Professionnel des Galeries d'Art