0,00

“MUSES” : ANJA MICHAELA | MARCEL FLEISS

12th December 2019 – 17th July 2020 | Press release

A few months ago, ANNE+ has hosted an almost empty but still full of stories show. This time, we decided to propose a silent exhibition filled with music… Divided into two parts, with two personalities who have “nothing and everything” in common, MUSES plays with the memory of music and its ghosts.

  • Anja MICHAELA, vue de l'exposition "MUSES"

In Greek mythology, Mnemosyne, the goddess of memory, is the mother of the Muses who whispers the ideas to the artists. Muses also have given their name to the art of music, which is for the German sculptor and performer Anja MICHAELA an inexhaustible source of inspiration. Her works, created from recovered instruments, bring memories of long vanished rhythms.

One can also find saxophones, trumpets, clarinets, pianos and others in Marcel Fleiss’s photography. As an artist, he believes, as MICHAELA does, that improvisation, mixing genders and being open to all possibilities is the essence of the creativity. His photographs captured a legendary energy of jazz golden years, a music characterized, like MICHAELA’s sculptures, by a special relation with time. Two artists, guided by the same MUSE, but obviously their silence does not make the same sound…

Deconstructed and rebuilt, deformed, swollen and twisted – the sculptures of Anja MICHAELA are created from transformed music instruments. Animated by an invisible and powerful breath, they gained a mysterious new life. Troubled, the spectator is driven to imagine a distant music, a reminiscence of past, but also the potential of new undiscovered sounds.

Conceptual and poetic, her sculptures live their own life, have a real presence. Spectacular, baroque, sophisticated and exuberant, certain of them recall a fantastic bestiary; others suggest human figures or masks. They approach an idea of what one could call a beauty.

Several of exhibited works refer to a pure abstract art of the arabesque and therefore can visualize sounds transformed by a memory. One can find also at MICHAELA the influence of the more “organic” work of Eva Hesse and Rebecca Horn. The artist masters the contaminations between different mediums, which lead to engagement of all spectator’s senses: the sight, the touch and the hearing.

MICHAELA’s works exist in several temporal dimensions. Without making any sound, they attempt to visualize the invisible. As John Cage was saying, everything is music, even silence; you just need to listen carefully…

Responding to MICHAELA’s imaginary music, the photographs presented in the second part of MUSES exhibition, refer to another kind of musical memories. They show jazz golden age and its giants, like Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, Thelonious Monk, Erroll Garner, John Lewis, Billy Taylor, Lester Young, Ella Fitzgerald, Lee Konitz, Stan Getz, Milt Jackson, Art Blakey, Nat King Cole and Sarah Vaughan, immortalized by a very unique photographer.

Marcel FLEISS is, as we love at ANNE +, a man of multiple destinies, a photographer, a music lover, a collector, an art dealer, a friend and a connoisseur of Surrealists and Dadaists. His famous photography series Jazzman recalls the mythical 50’s in New York and clubs, like Birdland or the Apollo in Harlem. At the time, they were published in the oldest French Jazz magazine – «Jazz Hot». By the way, their author was also the first who wrote and spoke in France about Charles Mingus, Gigi Gryce, George Wallington and Charlie Smith.

Back in Paris, still staying in touch with his musician friends, Marcel FLEISS has often helped to arrange concerts in Saint-Germain club and immortalized the events. Today, his photos are treasures, exhibited at Villa Getty in Los Angeles, the Reina Sofia Museum in Madrid or Pompidou Center in Paris.

MARCEL FLEISS

Born in 1934 in Paris, living in Brazil during the war, Marcel FLEISS is sent by his parents in the early 50s to New York in order to learn the profession of skinner. He falls in love with jazz there and takes pictures of great jazzmen of the time. Back in France, living close to Drouot, he discovers the universe of art. In 1969 in Vence, he meets Man Ray who becomes his friend and convinces him to open a gallery. Co-founder of the Quatre Mouvements Gallery (1972-1976), FLEISS exhibits Dada, Surrealism, Pop Art and American Hyperrealism. In 1981 he opens his own gallery, Galerie 1900-2000 (today directed by his son David) and shows the avant-gardes as well as Lettrism, Fluxus and the great figures of contemporary art like Pol Bury, George Condo, Jean-Michel Basquiat or Keith Haring. A worldwide renowned expert in modern art, his life is like a museum and his exhibitions at Bonaparte street are true legends.

ANJA MICHAELA

Born in 1966 in Koblenz, Germany, she multiplies experiences and studies, like art history, philosophy, goldsmith art and sculpture at the National School of Fine Arts of Karlsruhe (Stephan Balkenhol’s class) before joining ENSBA in Paris (Tadashi Kawamata’s class). She exhibits regularly in Germany and France where she stayed in residence at the Cité des Arts in Paris and in Meisenthal in Moselle.

29, AVENUE HOCHE, 75008 PARIS, (+33) (0)6 30 74 52 62 moc.s1590639515ulpen1590639515na@tc1590639515atnoc1590639515
Comité Professionnel des Galeries d'Art

0,00

“MUSES” : ANJA MICHAELA | MARCEL FLEISS

12 décembre 2019 – 20 mars 2020 | Communiqué de presse

Il y a quelques mois, ANNE+ a accueilli une exposition quasi vide mais débordant d’histoires, il était temps d’en faire une autre, silencieuse et remplie de musique… Imaginée en deux volets, avec deux personnalités qui n’ont rien et tout en commun, l’exposition MUSES joue avec la mémoire de la musique et ses fantômes.

  • Anja MICHAELA, vue de l'exposition "MUSES"

Dans la mythologie grecque, Mnémosyne, la déesse de la mémoire, est la mère des Muses qui soufflent les idées aux artistes. Elles ont aussi donné leur nom à l’art de la musique qui est, pour la sculptrice et performeuse allemande Anja MICHAELA, une inépuisable source d’inspiration. Ses œuvres, créées à partir d’instruments récupérés, portent des souvenirs de rythmes longtemps évanouis.

On retrouve les saxophones, les trompettes, les clarinettes, les pianos et autres chez Marcel FLEISS qui a aussi compris que l’improvisation, le métissage et l’ouverture aux possibilités est l’essence de la créativité. Ses photographies ont capté une énergie légendaire des années d’or du jazz, cette musique qui se distingue, comme les sculptures de MICHAELA, par une relation toute particulière au temps.

Deux artistes, guidés par la même MUSE, mais, évidemment, leur silence ne fait pas le même bruit…

Déconstruits et reconstruits, réassemblés, déformés, boursouflés, tordus, cabossés et tortillés – Anja MICHAELA opère de vraies transformations sur les instruments qui gagnent une sorte de vie nouvelle, animée d’un souffle invisible et puissant. Troublé, le spectateur est poussé à imaginer une musique distante, une réminiscence du passé, mais également le potentiel de sons à découvrir.

Conceptuelles et poétiques, ses sculptures sont dotées d’une existence propre, d’une vraie présence. Spectaculaires, baroques, sophistiquées et exubérantes, certaines font penser à un bestiaire fantastique, d’autres à des personnages, masques ou divinités oubliées. Osons l’écrire, elles s’approchent à ce qu’on pourrait nommer une vraie beauté plastique.

Tandis que plusieurs sculptures évoquent un pur art abstrait de l’arabesque et visualisent ainsi des sons métamorphosés dans la mémoire, le travail de MICHAELA tisse également des liens forts avec l’art d’Eva Hesse et Rebecca Horn. On retrouve chez elle une vraie transversalité permettant des contaminations entre différents mediums où plusieurs sens du spectateur sont engagés: la vue, le toucher et l’ouïe. Ses œuvres, qui se jouent en plusieurs dimensions temporelles, sont une audacieuse tentative de rendre tangible l’invisible, toujours sans faire un seul son. Comme le disait John Cage, il y a de la musique dans toute chose, surtout dans le silence, il faut juste apprendre à écouter…

En écho à la musique imaginaire d’Anja MICHAELA, les photographies présentées dans le deuxième volet de l’exposition MUSES, touchent à une autre sorte de souvenirs musicaux. Elles témoignaient de l’âge d’or du jazz et de ses génies, Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, Thelonious Monk, Erroll Garner, Billy Taylor, John Lewis, Lester Young, Ella Fitzgerald, Lee Konitz, Stan Getz, Milt Jackson, Art Blakey, Nat King Cole et Sarah Vaughan, immortalisés par un personnage hors du commun.

En effet, Marcel FLEISS est, comme on aime chez ANNE+, un homme à plusieurs casquettes, photographe, mélomane, collectionneur et marchand d’art, un ami et connaisseur des surréalistes et dadaïstes. Sa célèbre série des photographies Jazzmann fait travailler la mémoire du temps mythique des années 50 à New York et ses clubs, comme Birdland ou l’Apollo à Harlem. A l’époque, elles étaient publiées dans la plus ancienne revue française de Jazz – « Jazz Hot ». Leur auteur était aussi le premier à écrire et à parler en France sur Charles Mingus, Gigi Gryce, George Wallington et Charlie Smith.

De retour à Paris, toujours en contact avec ses amis musiciens, Marcel FLEISS les a souvent aidé à venir jouer dans les clubs de Saint-Germain en immortalisant leurs concerts à l’occasion. Aujourd’hui, ses photos sont des trésors de la mémoire du jazz, déjà exposées à la Villa Getty à Los Angeles, au musée de Reina Sofia de Madrid ou encore au Centre Pompidou à Paris.

MARCEL FLEISS
Né en 1934 à Paris, vivant au Brésil pendant la guerre, Marcel FLEISS est envoyé par ses parents au début des années 50 à New York pour apprendre le métier de pelletier. Là, il tombe amoureux du jazz et photographie les grands musiciens de l’époque. De retour en France, voisin avec Drouot, il découvre l’univers du marché de l’art. En 1969 à Vence, il rencontre Man Ray qui devient son ami et qui finit par le convaincre d’ouvrir une galerie. Cofondateur de la Galerie des Quatre Mouvements (1972-1976), FLEISS expose Dada, surréalisme, Pop Art et Hyperréalisme américain, et en 1981 ouvre sa propre Galerie 1900-2000, dirigée aujourd’hui par son fils David, où il montre les avant-gardes ainsi que le lettrisme, le Fluxus et les grandes figures d’art contemporain comme Pol Bury, George Condo, Jean-Michel Basquiat ou Keith Haring. Spécialiste de l’art moderne, sa vie ressemble à un musée et ses expositions de la rue Bonaparte sont de vraies légendes.

ANJA MICHAELA
Née en 1966 à Coblence, Allemagne, elle cumule les expériences et formations, entre histoire de l’art, philosophie, orfèvrerie et enfin sculpture à l’École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux Arts de Karlsruhe dans la classe de Stephan Balkenhol avant de rejoindre la classe de Tadashi Kawamata à l’ENSBA de Paris. Elle expose régulièrement en Allemagne et en France où elle a séjourné en résidence à la Cité des Arts à Paris et à Meisenthal en Moselle.

29, AVENUE HOCHE, 75008 PARIS, (+33) (0)6 30 74 52 62 moc.s1582160798ulpen1582160798na@tc1582160798atnoc1582160798
Comité Professionnel des Galeries d'Art